★★★★★ – “Nailed it.”

Captain America: Civil War is directed by Anthony & Joe Russo and stars Chris Evans, Robert Downy Jr., Scarlett Johansson, Sebastian Stan, Anthony Mackie, Don Cheadle, Jeremy Renner, Chadwick Boseman, Paul Bettany, Elizabeth Olsen, Paul Rudd, Daniel Brül and last but definitely not least, Tom Holland.

After another incident involving destruction, chaos and death, the Avengers are required to sign a contract with a governing body to ensure they are only called upon when absolutely vital. Tony Stark and Steve Rogers become enemies due to a disagreement and the other Avengers are caught in the crossfire.

Firstly I’d like to state that I’m not overly keen on how 70% of movies these days are centred around superheroes or their respective universes. I’ve always enjoyed the instalments Marvel have been releasing in the MCU canon and this is no different… But yet it is.

Anthony and Joe Russo so skilfully directed The Winter Soldier that I had no doubts for Civil War and I had a deep feeling it would be perfect. I was right. This is how you direct a superhero movie. Take note Zach Snyder and DC Comics, this is entertainment.

The action sequences are so brilliantly directed and shot that it’s impossible to keep your eyes off the screen. It’s fast-paced, rapid, clean and smart. If you’ve seen their work before then you know how beautiful their direction is. And not just in the action sequences; the real conflict and deceit between these heroes is written extremely well and shows you both sides to the story. It’s really hard to decide who you side with as a viewer, and that’s what is truly wonderful and unique about this movie. It has you rooting for both sides of the argument, regardless of who your favourite characters are.

Along with the usual team of Avengers we have some newcomers; Black Panther and Spider-Man. Chadwick Boseman did a terrific job as Panther and settles conveniently into the story. I look forward to seeing more of this character in future instalments. Tom Holland as Spidey. Perfect. He has an incredible balance between the web-slinger and teenager Peter Parker. He was introduced into the MCU nicely and was actually involved a lot more than I had expected, which was a great surprise. He handles the comedy with absolute ease and had the entire theatre laughing in all of his scenes. I am stunned and cannot wait to see more of him!

Music by Henry Jackman is just as tense and gritty as it was in The Winter Soldier and as the screenplay evolves, the new Civil War theme gravitates to the foreground. Instead of a mash of motifs, Jackman decided that it would be easier to have one overall theme. I appreciate this decision.

My verdict; Captain America: Civil War had major potential to be a disappointment. But luckily the Russo brothers came through just as they did before with a complete masterpiece. This is now my favourite MCU instalment by far. See this movie.

Captain America: Civil War – ★★★★★ (10/10)

captain-america-civil-war-poster.jpg

6 thoughts on “Captain America: Civil War (2016) – Review

  1. I really liked it too, despite not having seen The Winter Soldier. I just never got round to it I guess? What is your opinion on the injection of comedies newer superhero movies now have? They’re no longer as serious or gritty, I think, but more of a action-comedy. Other recent examples would be Suicide Squad,. Deadpool and Ant Man. Do you feel like the addition of comedy helps or hinders these films? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should definitely try watching it! Really great movie.
      As much as a like the darkness of, say, Nolan’s Batman trilogy, I also really enjoy the comedy aspect. I think it depends on the context and the scene. For example, having Batman say something like “me and your son are sorta best friends now” in BvS was a cheap blast at comedy, simply because it was rushed. But there are times when it’s perfect, like most scenes in Civil War.
      What do you think?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m not too sure yet – I like clever comedy. More like snarky comments and sarcasm. Some of the comedy lines in these action films do seem a little forced. I think it works better when the actors are already comedians, because they have a better understanding of comedy. There’s more to comedy than just delivering a line the writers thought was funny. I thought Ant Man was the best example of this, as Paul Rudd is a comedian and has been in other comedies. I’m not fully convinced by other superhero actors just yet at their attempts at comedy. Also, sometimes, I think comedy isn’t needed, but it’s crowbarred in to try and get a wider audience (e.g. to make superhero films look less nerdy). Sorry, this feels like such a rambly comment! xD

        Like

      2. No, I agree! It definitely varies. I thought Civil War worked quite well, but I can see what you mean when you say it’s forced. That’s why I mentioned Batman v Superman, a lot of the ‘comedy’ in that movie felt cheesy. I do think Downy Jr. is brilliant at delivering his lines, however, but then he’s starred in a fair few comedies.
        It’s a good topic to discuss, thanks for commenting!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

